You Deserve Better Health

A workaholic's journey to better health, and helping others find theirs.

Like Running in the Ocean

I’ve been slacking off when it comes to this blog…  One of the things I really strive for, is to stay consistent with activities that give me a sense of fulfillment.  So, I’m a bit bummed that I missed my “Monday Motivation” post.  But these last 2 weeks have been rough.  I really feel like I have been trying to run against the ocean.  No matter how hard I try to keep making progress or keep moving forward, I continue getting hit by HUGE waves of discomfort.  Each time I get back up from the blow, you guessed it, another wave to derail me.

I could sit here and tell you about every frustration over the last 2 weeks, and I could whine about this and complain about that, but what would I gain from it?  What would you gain from it?  Probably nothing.  If anything, it would just send me reeling about my frustrations and that’s never good.

So, there have been a number of situations within the last two weeks that were catalysts for my being in a reflective state.  As a result, I have been working to remind myself is that there is only love.  What the heck do I mean by that?!?  Well, I can’t take full credit for this idea, or any credit at all.  I am currently reading The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin and she has a really amazing journey, and I can’t wait to start my own happiness project as soon as I finish the book.  Check it out if you think you could be happier 🙂

Anyway, she talks about this idea that we should try to implement a, “there is only love” approach to our interactions.  Essentially meaning that you don’t speak poorly or to even think poorly of others or yourself.  I realized that I am AWFUL with this.  I pride myself on my honesty but I think I have taken my honesty to the extreme.  My honesty has become sloppy, and I have started justifying my, let’s just be honest here, talking smack, as being honest.

In the name of honesty, I talk about how I feel about myself, other people and situations all the time.  I am, like most people, much more honest about my dissatisfaction than my contentment.  Now, like I said, I pride myself on being honest.  So, it’s true that while I tend to discuss things behind peoples’ back, I always find away to address my irritation with the person involved as well.  So, at least I have that going for me.

Don’t get me wrong, I WANT to be a master at this amazing mantra; I think I would be a more happy person if I was really living it.  So this week, I entered into as many situations as I could, keeping “there is only love” in mind.  And I am proud of how political, and balanced some of the more difficult conversations have been.  Which is probably why I am so aware of how intense my negative discussions have become.

So, my Monday Motivation is to keep this in mind until it becomes habit.  Remember that there is only love.  I hope that my family and friends who read this will help remind me of this goal.  I know I will need help.  I will need reminders.  But I know I can make the change 🙂

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Like Running in the Ocean

  1. Amy boring on said:

    Good stuff!!!

Leave a Reply

